L3 Week 30 – Ten Weeks Asleep?


OK not actually asleep but not focussing on the job in hand.

First the good news:

Lost: 6.8lbs
Lost so far: 45.8lbs
Average Weekly Loss: 1.53lbs
Weight: 258.4lbs (18st 6lb)

So in a single swoop (week) I’m back down to well over 3stone lost, under 40BMI and my lowest weight of L3. Good eh?

Well yes – and you know this is coming, glass half-empty man that I am – but there’s a big part of me that’s saying “what took so long?”. Because another way to look at it is to say it’s taken 10 weeks to lose less than half a pound. Let’s quickly summarize the last 10 weeks:

Week What happened Result
Week 21 W/e at home plus worry about my Dad put on ~3.5lb
Week 22 Normal Week lost ~3 lb
Week 23 games night + short break with M. put on ~5lb
Week 24 still off work, so stayed off diet put on ~1lb
Week 25 “Friday Pizza” put on ~3lb
Week 26 good week, “lost it” a little at w/e lost ~1.5lb
Week 27 normal week until last 2 days, then “Eat Your Calories” lost ~3lb
Week 28 Week of “Eat Your Calories” stayed the same
Week 29 “Friday Pizza” put on ~1lb
Week 30 Normal week lost ~7lb

I should probably explain what “Friday Pizza” is since I’ve had a couple of those. It’s when I decide on a Friday evening that I’d like to have a night off the diet and have something nice. So in itself not so disastrous you might think, but what has happened is this:

  • I find myself wanting takeaway, Pizza is both nice and easy – there’s one on the way back from work.
  • which makes it easy to order online while I’m still at work and collect it on the way home.
  • obviously I buy something to drink with it – usually a bottle of wine
  • the fact that I walk straight home means no exercise walk
  • drinking means less inhibitions means more indulgence
  • in order to get a nice pizza and sides I end up buying more than I can eat and so Friday night’s indulgence turns into Saturday’s too as I finish it off then.

So I’m thinking that if/when I do this again I need to make sure I get the pizza after my walk and that I stick to a small one.

Anyway looking back over the last ten weeks I see that I under-estimated how long my planned diet holiday was going to be and how long it would take to get back on track. I assumed that I would just have that one week (week 23) and that even after that became 3 that I would lose it back in a couple of weeks. I still think that it was not entirely unreasonable to have a week or two off, taking the longer view, but that having put on 10lbs I needed to lose that back and more before relaxing again. It possibly wasn’t test out an untried theory like MFP’s eat your calories either.

Anyway I feel I need to get a few weeks of normal diet and exercise under my belt again before any major departures.

About shuggie

My name is Shuggie, Paul or LatePaul depending on where you know me from. I work in computers (databases) and occasionally write about softw
This entry was posted in diet, L3, lesamy, Less is More and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to L3 Week 30 – Ten Weeks Asleep?

  1. Pingback: L3 Week 40 – Only a Week (or Two, or Three…) | Only Mostly Dead

Leave a Reply

